Last lap pass lifts Roahrig on 500 sprint tour

Tyler Roahrig (photo by David Sink)

BROWNSBURG, Ind. –Tyler Roahrig earned the sprint car victory from Pat O’Conner and Joe James with a last-lap pass Monday night at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Roahrig set a fast time in qualifying for the 500 Sprint Car Tour event and started 10e in the function of 30 turns.

Roahrig climbed to fourth after 15 home runs, then passed Armstrong and Kody Swanson to move from fourth to second on lap 21.

The warning flag was waved on lap 23 when Doug Fitzwater spun around turn two, resulting in a seven-lap race to the ladies.

Billy Wease was on point after taking the lead from Dakoda Armstrong with a pass down the backstretch on lap 21.

With Wease on the verge, he was chased on the restart by Roahrig, Armstrong, Swanson and Russ Gamester.

Roahrig looked inside Wease on lap 26, but backed off when the car swerved into turn four.

On the final lap, Roahrig had a great run down the backstretch and was able to get under Wease as he entered turn three for the win.

Kody Swanson came third, followed by Bobby Santos III, Armstrong with visiting NASCAR champion Kyle Larson coming in sixth.

It was Roahrig’s second victory with the 500 Sprint Car Tour presented by auto stores Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper.

“With two to go, I thought we would finish second,” Roahrig said. “I think the run-in car held him back (Wease) and I had a good run down the backstretch.

“Coming into turn three, I thought I was going to spin or race,” he said.

Wease said there was nothing he could have done differently to hold Roahrig back.

“I came out held back out of turn two and Tyler had a good run on the backstretch,” he said. “Starting ninth and finishing second was a good race.”

Swanson said his Doran Enterprises-prepared car lost control in the final laps.

“I gave it everything I had coming up from eighth place,” he said.

The end:

1) Tyler Roahrig; 2) Billy Wease; 3) Kody Swanson; 4) Bobby Santos III; 5) Dakoda Armstrong; 6) Kyle Larson; 7) Tanner Swanson; 8) Kyle O’Gara; 9) Taylor ferns; 10)CJ Leary; 11) Ken Schrader; 12) Russian Gamester; 13) Joe Ligouri; 14) Nathan Byrd; 15) Shane Butler; 16) Kyle Robbins; 17) Justin Harper; 18) Master Tony; 19) Quinton Saayman; 20) Travis Welpott; 21) Davey Hamilton Jr.; 22) Doug Fitzwater; 23) Derek Bischak; 24) Cory Butler; 25) Jim Leaves

Source link

Comments are closed.