Raabe reigns victorious at Mohawk

Chris Raabe (middle) stands alongside Carey Terrance (right) and Louis Jackson Jr. (DIRTcar Racing Photo)

AKWESASNE, NY — Chris Raabe rode his modified 358 to his second career victory at Mohawk International Raceway on the first night of the Mohawk Nationals Friday night.

Raabe lined up fourth for the feature and kept pace for most of the race as his competitors battled for position.

Brian McDonald started on pole and led the field until Carrey Terrance made his way through Louis Jackson Jr. and McDonald after the first restart.

No stranger to the track, Terrance took a comfortable lead, several car lengths ahead of his competitors. Just as it looked like Terrance couldn’t be challenged, Raabe used an endgame charge to make things interesting.

His car came to life for three quarters of the race, knocking out competitors one by one with deft maneuvers in coiled traffic. After passing two cars on lap 49 to put him in second place, he set his sights on the leader.

“I wasn’t really saving that much,” Raabe said. “We were just really bad at the start there. I thought we were in trouble. We fell four points. It was really slippery there. Our car was really good on the bottom. We just made it happen.

He passed Carrey Terrance on lap 55 and took the win.

Second-placed Louis Jackson Jr. held the lead for the first half of the race, but was passed by Carrey Terrance when he had to calm down because his car was getting too hot.

Jackson Jr. finished second, unable to fight for the win when his car began to overheat.

“I was just trying to pace myself,” Jackson Jr. said. “I noticed my car was getting hot. So I had to relax a bit. It was like turn 30. You don’t want to kill him.

Terrance crossed the finish line third, Billy Dunn was fourth and Erick Rudolph was fifth.

The end:

Characteristic (60 laps): 1. 01-Chris Raabe[4]; 2. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[2]; 3. 66X-Carey Terrance[3]; 4. 49-Billy Dunn[7]; 5. 25-Erick Rodolphe[5]; 6. 151K-Brian McDonald[1]; 7. 28-Jordan McCreadie[11]; 8. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[10]; 9. 31-Lance Willix[16]; 10. 15X – Justin Stone[8]; 11. 39-Ryan Bartlett[14]; 12. 7S-Shaun Shaw[6]; 13. M1-David Marcuccili[13]; 14. 60-Jackson Gill[26]; 15. 18W-Scott Webb[17]; 16. 32R-Ronnie Davis III[12]; 17. 66W – Derek Webb[20]; 18. 2J-Robert Bublak[9]; 19. 23J-Jeff Sykes[24]; 20. 23L-Joey Ladouceur[23]; 21. 713-Tommy Collins[25]; 22. 11S-Steve Lewis Jr[27]; 23. Tresidder 21R-RJ[30]; 24. 58M-Marshall Hurd[28]; 25. Stone 1X-Todd[19]; 26. 87-Daryl Mitchell[29]; 27. 9-Tyler Meeks[22]; 28. 21T-Taylor Caprara[18]; 29. 29C-Matt Caprara[21]; 30. 7MM-Michael Maresca[15]

Source link

Comments are closed.