That’s all Hafertepe by the lake

Sam Hafertepe Jr. (center) shares the Lakeside Speedway podium with Garett Williamson and Jason Martin. (photo CSAS)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Thursday night at Lakeside Speedway was all about Sam Hafertepe Jr. as the #15 Hills Racing/Heidbreder Foundation driver dominated the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

Leading flag to flag for his third National Tour score of the season and 61st since 2010, the win makes Hafertepe the first repeat winner with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series in eight oval appearances. of Kansas.

“It’s fun to get on big tracks like this where we can get on the wall and run like that,” Hafertepe said. “We are still working on the car. We were trying out a set of left rear shocks tonight which is different to what we normally use but luckily we were able to work up front and get the win but still have some work to do when not in clean air . We always want to be better, and without Miles [Hill] and everyone who helps us, we couldn’t do that.

Battling in the first round with Matt Covington, the No. 15h quickly found his rhythm to start pulling away. In traffic for the first seven laps, Hafertepe was quick to move on the slower machines as the battle for second place began to heat up between Matt Covington and Dylan Westbrook.

Able to return to silver on the #47x, the race for second place turned into a three-way battle with Garet Williamson’s #24 in the pack. The race was stopped when Westbrook rolled over on lap 20.

Restarting on the last full lap, the green flag was waved with 19 laps in the books.

Using slower cars in the range to his advantage, Hafertepe was quick to get away as the race for second picked up where it left off, but with a new contender as Jason Martin chased the position .

Hafertepe raced with a 7.513 second advantage at the finish. Garet Williamson came out on top of the race for second place, making the pass over Covington on lap 23.

Jason Martin, Covington and Wayne Johnson round out the top five.

The end:

Feature (25 laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[2]; 2. 24-Garet Williamson[5]; 3. 36-Jason Martin[4]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[1]; 5. 2C-Wayne Johnson[11]; 6. 22-Riley Goodno[6]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[12]; 8. 27B-Jake Bubak[19]; 9. 44-Chris Martin[13]; 10. 17B-Ryan Bickett[16]; 11. 98P-Miles Paulus[9]; 12. 1X-Tim Crawley[8]; 13. 45X – Kyler Johnson[10]; 14. 55B-Brandon Anderson[7]; 15. 187-Landon Crawley[15]; 16. 2 Chase Carrier[17]; 17. 53-Joe Beaver[14]; 18. 10P-Dylan Postman[22]; 19. 21-Machine Gunner Ramey[23]; 20. 10-Landon Britt[21]; 21. 16-Dustin Clark[18]; 22. 17F-Chad Frewaldt[20]; 23. 47X – Dylan Westbrook[3]

Source link

Comments are closed.